A Series of Cons- Part I

photo 1-2

Minneapolis Wizard World Comic Con 2014

It’s Con season!

I went to my first Con about seven years ago. It changed my whole world view. Going brought me such joy, such a sense of finally finding my own tribe. This year I decided to branch out and try a few new ones.

San Diego Comic Con is the Science Fiction and Fantasy convention most people think about when the word ‘Convention’ or ‘Con’ come up. It’s highly unlikely I’ll ever attend that show but when I heard they had a tour coming to my city I had to see what the fuss was all about.

photo 4-2

My Con buddy for the day could not jump in fast enough!

This beauty was right inside the entrance. The best part was the money collected to sit in this time machine goes toward the Michael J Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s research. Money well spent!

Cosplay next!

Cosplayers are one of the best reasons to go to a Con. Their commitment to their fandom, their amazing creativity, and their willingness to pose and share make Con going a rich and unique experience. I’m always shy when I see Cosplayers, especially ones who share a fandom I love too. I’ll tiptoe around until I muster up the courage to ask for a photo or jump in on a photo mob.

photo 4-3

Black Widow, Winter Soldier, Nick Fury. These three hit the nail on the freakin head! Amazing!

photo 3-4

Speaking of time travel, these Assassin’s Creed cosplayers were crossing timeline streams and looking fantastic while doing it.

Rufio! Rufio! Ru-fi-oooooo!

Rufio! Rufio! Ru-fi-oooooo!

photo 5-4

BAMF Blade and his undead prey. His costume detail was amazing. I wish I had a shot of the breastplate armor or the sword on his back but you don’t get in the way of a man on a mission.

Despite the fierceness of their expressions in the photos, all of these Cosplayers were extremely fun and happy to share the detail that went into making their costumes. The Cosplay community has always been warm and welcoming to me.

Next time you see a Cosplayer, go talk to them, ask for a photo, and share your love of Nerdy things together!

Leave a Reply

